A coalition is a structured arrangement for cooperation and collaboration between otherwise unrelated groups or organizations, in which each group retains its identity but all agree to work together toward a common, mutually agreed-upon goal.

In northern Lower Michigan, several coalitions are in place that address substance use issues. Up North Prevention can assist any group of citizens, organizations, law-makers and educators in developing and running a substance abuse prevention coalition.

For assistance in setting up a coalition, contact or call (800) 356-5755. Your email will be directed to the professional working in your community and they will be in contact with you.

Coalition Contacts by County

County Coalition Name Contact Email
Alcona* HSCC Michael Maturen
Alpena Families Against Narcotics (FAN)-Alpena, Montmorency, Presque Isle (AMP) Chapter Donna Hardies
Cheboygan Pulling Together- Cheboygan County Substance Free Coalition Amalia Harvey
Crawford Families Against Narcotics (FAN)- Crawford Chapter

Crawford Partnership for Substance Abuse Prevention

Lynda Rutkowski
Grand Traverse Region Grand Traverse County Drug Free Coalition

The Substance Free Coalition of Northwest Michigan

Lauren Reed

Sharon Vreeland

Iosco Iosco Substance Free Coalition Allison Smith
Iosco* HSCC Michael Maturen
Kalkaska Live Well Kalkaska Substance Free Coalition Susanne Prentice

Lisa Anderson

Leelanau Leelanau County Substance Abuse Prevention Coalition Greg McMorrow
Montmorency Families Against Narcotics (FAN)- AMP Chapter

Montmorency County Substance Free Coalition

Donna Hardies
Ogemaw Drug-Free Coalition of Ogemaw County JoJean Thompson
Ogemaw* HSCC JoJean Thompson
Oscoda* HSCC Michael Maturen
Otsego Families Against Narcotics (FAN)- Otsego Chapter

Otsego Substance Free Coalition

Lynda Rutkowski
Presque Isle Families Against Narcotics (FAN)- AMP Chapter Donna Hardies
Presque Isle* HSCC Mary Schalk

Donna Hardies
Roscommon Three Lakes Communities That Care-Drug Free Coalition JoJean Thompson

* HSCC- Human Service Coordinating Council